Malaysia Technology Expo 2012 — Another Successful Year

The 11th edi­tion of Malaysia Tech­nol­o­gy Expo 2012 (MTE 2012) held from 16 – 18 Feb­ru­ary at Putra World Trade Cen­tre was offi­cial­ly opened by YB Datuk Haji Fadil­lah Bin Haji Yusof, Deputy Min­is­ter of Sci­ence, Tech­nol­o­gy & Inno­va­tion on Thurs­day , 16 Feb­ru­ary 2012. MTE is an annu­al event sup­port­ed by MOSTI. It start­ed as a Sil­ver Jubilee cel­e­bra­tion of what was then known as the Min­istry of Sci­ence and Tech­nol­o­gy (MOSTE) in 2001. Today MTE is the Lead­ing Inter­na­tion­al Inven­tion & Inno­va­tion expo in the region. Held in con­junc­tion with the event is the Inven­tion & Inno­va­tion Awards 2012 ; a pres­ti­gious acco­lade that rec­og­nizes the excel­lence in research & devel­op­ment work from indi­vid­ual & group inven­tors, sci­en­tists and inno­va­tors in the tech­no­log­i­cal field.

There were over 550 inven­tions and inno­va­tions at the exhi­bi­tion from local uni­ver­si­ties, pri­vate com­pa­nies and for­eign par­tic­i­pants from Croa­t­ia, Iran ‚Korea, Nige­ria, Poland, Rus­sia, Sau­di Ara­bia and Tai­wan. MTE is the plat­form where researchers, sci­en­tists and inno­va­tors from insti­tu­tions of high­er learn­ing, pri­vate sec­tor and research insti­tu­tions show­case their inven­tions and find­ings. Judg­ing of the entries for the Inven­tion & Inno­va­tion Awards 2012 took place on 16 Feb­ru­ary 2012, the 1st day of MTE 2012 by a pan­el of 98 judges who are experts in the var­i­ous tech­no­log­i­cal fields.

In his open­ing speech, YB Datuk Haji Fadil­lah Bin Haji Yusof, Deputy Min­is­ter of MOSTI stat­ed “The Min­istry of Sci­ence, Tech­nol­o­gy and Inno­va­tions (MOSTI) aim to sup­port and encour­age the adop­tion and appli­ca­tion of sci­ence & tech­nol­o­gy, research and devel­op­ment in every sec­tor of the econ­o­my and this is what MTE 2012 is all about “

At the Inven­tion & Inno­va­tion Awards 2012 evening on 17 Feb­ru­ary at Dewan Merde­ka, 32 ‘For­eign Spe­cial Awards’ were pre­sent­ed to the over­seas par­tic­i­pants. The win­ner of the ‘Best of the Best Award’ was Pro­fes­sor Dr Wan Azelee Wan Abu Bakar from UTM, ‘The Very Best Award’ win­ner was Asso­ciate Pro­fes­sor Dr Nazli­na Shaari from UNIMAS and the ‘Woman Inven­tor of the Year ‘ was Dr Ani­ka Zafi­ah Mohd Rus from UTHM. There were 17 spe­cial awards win­ners, 96 Gold, 158 Sil­ver and 196 Bronze medals win­ners.

MTE 2013 is sched­uled to be at Putra World Trade Cen­tre from 21- 23 Feb­ru­ay 2013.