Australia — New scholarship to attract top American researchers in science

The Min­is­ter for Defence Sci­ence and Per­son­nel, War­ren Snow­don, today announced the Aus­tralian Gov­ern­ment is fund­ing a new schol­ar­ship for an out­stand­ing Amer­i­can pro­fes­sor to work with world-lead­ing sci­en­tists from Aus­tralia.
The new posi­tion, the Ful­bright Dis­tin­guished Chair in Advanced Sci­ence and Tech­nol­o­gy, is the result of a part­ner­ship between the Defence Sci­ence and Tech­nol­o­gy Organ­i­sa­tion (DSTO) and the Aus­tralian Amer­i­can Ful­bright Com­mis­sion.

The Aus­tralian Amer­i­can Ful­bright Com­mis­sion estab­lished an Aus­tralian pro­gram in 1949 to pro­vide schol­ar­ships for study between the US and Aus­tralia. It has since award­ed schol­ar­ships to more than 2,700 Aus­tralians and 2,000 Amer­i­cans.

“I’m pleased to announce this is the first Ful­bright Dis­tin­guished Chair to be estab­lished in sci­ence and tech­nol­o­gy in Aus­tralia and joins the Ful­bright Flinders Uni­ver­si­ty Dis­tin­guished Chair in Amer­i­can Polit­i­cal Sci­ence,” Mr Snow­don said.

“These two are among the most pres­ti­gious of Ful­bright schol­ar­ships inter­na­tion­al­ly. World­wide, there are only approx­i­mate­ly 40 Ful­bright Dis­tin­guished Chairs. “The Dis­tin­guished Chair will share knowl­edge and skills with coun­ter­parts in the Defence Sci­ence and Tech­nol­o­gy Organ­i­sa­tion and build net­works that will under­pin future col­lab­o­ra­tion.

“This may include work in DSTO’s cur­rent pri­or­i­ty areas such as advanced sens­ing, advanced aero­dy­nam­ics and hydro­dy­nam­ics, biotech­nol­o­gy and bio­log­i­cal sci­ences, health and nutri­tion sci­ences, hyper­son­ics, autonomous sys­tems, robot­ics and smart mate­ri­als.

“We know that shar­ing knowl­edge among sci­en­tists and inter­na­tion­al col­lab­o­ra­tion on projects of mutu­al inter­est under­pins suc­cess in apply­ing sci­ence and tech­nol­o­gy solu­tions to our nation­al secu­ri­ty,” Mr Snow­don said.

Mr Snow­don said some 43 Ful­bright schol­ars world­wide have been award­ed the Nobel Prize. Promi­nent Aus­tralian sci­ence alum­ni include med­ical researcher Basil Het­zel, bio­chemist Dr Kei­th Board­man, math­e­mat­ics pro­fes­sor Ter­ence Tao, micro­bi­ol­o­gist Pro­fes­sor Nan­cy Mil­lis, and chem­i­cal physi­cist Sir Alan Walsh whose work rev­o­lu­tionised quan­ti­ta­tive analy­sis. The Ful­bright Dis­tin­guished Chair in Advanced Sci­ence and Tech­nol­o­gy has been fund­ed for an ini­tial three years, with appli­ca­tions open­ing in Feb­ru­ary 2012 and the first chair expect­ed to start in 2012–13.

The Chair is a four to five-month appoint­ment at DSTO or anoth­er research insti­tu­tion in Aus­tralia linked to DSTO.

Dur­ing the appoint­ment, the Chair will work on a spe­cif­ic research project in a pri­or­i­ty area for DSTO and share knowl­edge through guest lec­tures, sem­i­nars and oth­er oppor­tu­ni­ties. Media Con­tacts:
Alice Plate (Min­is­ter Snow­don): 0400 045 999
Karen Pol­glaze (DSTO) 02 6128 6384
Defence Media Oper­a­tions: 02 6127 1999 or 0408 498 664

Press release
Min­is­te­r­i­al Sup­port and Pub­lic Affairs,
Depart­ment of Defence,
Can­ber­ra, Aus­tralia

More news and arti­cles can be found on Face­book and Twit­ter.

Fol­low on Face­book and/or on Twit­ter