Australia – Final Six Leopard Tanks Rolling Out

Minister for Defence Materiel, Jason Clare today announced the recipients of the final six of 30 decommissioned Leopard tanks being gifted to RSL clubs across the country. The RSLs were selected from the original organisations that applied in 2007.

The successful RSLs are:

Beaconsfield RSL (TAS);
Cooktown RSL (QLD);
Mount Perry RSL (QLD);
Marion RSL (SA);
Wells RSL (SA); and
Geraldton RSL (WA).

“Leopard Tanks have been the mainstay of Australia’s armoured capabilities for three decades. They served the army well and have made way for the next generation tank, the M1A1 Abrams tanks,” Mr Clare said.

“It is important that we preserve Australia’s military history. RSLs play a vital role in connecting local communities to that history.”

The 24 RSL Clubs already confirmed to receive a tank are:

Beenleigh RSL (QLD);
Bendigo RSL (VIC);
Bribie Island RSL (QLD);
Bunbury RSL (WA);
Canberra Services Club (ACT);
Collie Cardiff RSL (WA);
Echuca and Moama RSL (VIC); Echunga RSL (SA);
Epping RSL (NSW);
Esperance RSL and Esperance Museum (WA);
Forster-Tuncurry RSL (NSW);
Ingleburn RSL (NSW);
Jerilderie RSL (NSW);
Kilcoy RSL (QLD);
McLaren Vale RSL (VIC);
Mount Gambier Community RSL (SA);
City of Palmerston RSL (NT);
Port Kennedy RSL (WA);
Port Augusta RSL (SA);
Rutherglen RSL (VIC);
Seymour RSL (VIC);
Upwey – Belgrave RSL (VIC);
Woodford RSL (QLD); and
Yarrawonga-Mulwala RSL (VIC).

Mr Clare said it is expected that all tanks will be delivered to their new homes by mid-next year.

Two tanks have already been delivered to Jerilderie RSL and Ingleburn RSL.

Press release
Ministerial Support and Public Affairs,
Department of Defence,
Canberra, Australia

More news and articles can be found on Facebook and Twitter.

Follow on Facebook and/or on Twitter